What Are the Different Dynasties in India

By Nidhi Nangia. Updated: January 16, 2017
What Are the Different Dynasties in India

No doubt, the Indian sub-continent is a complete world in itself. Owing to its vast geography and varied climatic conditions, it has its own varied sets of cultures and histories. The country has a complex history with a diversity of states, empires and cities co-existing together. A large number of rulers have entered the country and tried to create and maintain their empire. Due to this, there are so many dynasties still alive in the nation. In this article, we are going to tell you what are the different dynasties in India.

You may also be interested in: What Are The Traditional Dances Of India

Maurya dynasty

This was perhaps the first major rule in the Indian history. It ruled almost the entire country from 332BC to 185BC. The rule started with Chandragupta Maurya, and lasted with Brihadratha, and included several important rulers of the country, including King Ashoka and Bindusara.

Mughal dynasty

Mughals ruled vast regions of the country, including areas from Kashmir to Tanjore and Kabul to Assam. The rule started in 1526 with Zahiruddin Mohammed Babur and ended in 1858 with Bahadur Shah II.

Maratha empire

The Marathas ruled the south western part of India from 1674 to 1818. It was founded by Shivaji Bhosle, and included a number of major rulers of India, such as Chatrapati Sambhaji Maharaj, Maharani Tarabai, Mahadaji Shinde and many more.

What Are the Different Dynasties in India - Maratha empire

Lodhi dynasty

This dynasty started in 1451 with Bahlol and ended in 1526 with Ibrahim. It ruled significant areas of central regions of India, including Punjab and Delhi. Significant rulers of the dynasty include Sikandar Lodhi, Bahlol Lodhi and others.

Gupta dynasty

Major areas ruled by this dynasty were Uttar Pradesh and Bihar. The empire was founded by Chandragupta I, and the last major ruler of the dynasty was Skandagupta. The empire ruled for the period between 320 and 550 AD.

Kushan dynasty

Yuezhi nomads migrated from Xinjiang and founded this dynasty in northern Afghanistan in 135 BCE. From there, the empire controlled a significant part of the Ganges valley, and also some parts of Central Asia and Afghanistan. Under the rule of this dynasty, trading routes were founded between China, Rome, Persia and India. Eventually, they shifted capital to Mathura in India and Peshawar in Pakistan.

Magadha dynasty

This empire ruled primarily western part of the country, including Patna and Bihar. They ruled from 684 BC to 320 BC. The founder of this dynasty was King Bindusara from Haryanka dynasty.

Chola dynasty

This was a major dynasty that ruled Patna, Tamil Nadu, Bihar, Sri Lanka and Bengal from 300BC to 1250AD. Major rulers of the dynasty were Rajraja Chola, Aditya-I and Vijayalaya. The dynasty was founded by Vijayalaya and ended with Athirajendra.

Tughlak dynasty

This was a Muslim dynasty that ruled Delhi during the Medieval period. Founded in Delhi in 1320 by Ghias-ud-din, it ended with Feroz Shah in 1413. Being ruled primarily by cruelty, rebellions and torture, it rapidly started disintegrating after 1335AD. Tughlaqabad, a city outside Delhi was founded by Ghazi Malik, the real name of the founder.

What Are the Different Dynasties in India - Tughlak dynasty

If you want to read similar articles to What Are the Different Dynasties in India, we recommend you visit our Culture & Society category.

Write a comment about What Are the Different Dynasties in India

What did you think of this article?

What Are the Different Dynasties in India
1 of 3
What Are the Different Dynasties in India

Back to top