How Many Countries Are There In Africa

Nidhi Nangia
By Nidhi Nangia. April 5, 2017
How Many Countries Are There In Africa

Africa is the biggest continent on the globe. In terms of area, it covers more than 20% of the total land mass of the earth, and measures around 11.7 square miles. As far as population is concerned, it is the 2nd most populous continent in the world. It is surrounded by Indian Ocean in the south-east, Atlantic Ocean in the west, Mediterranean Sea in the north, and Red Sea and Suez Canal in the north-east. Africa is a diverse continent in terms of cultures, languages and ethnicities, and also economics, environments, government systems and historical references. There are numerous countries that claim to be independent African states, but not all of them meet the criteria to become an African country. In reality, Africa has a total of 54 countries, ten territories, and two de-facto independent states with no or limited recognition. We have already told you how many countries there are in America and Asia. Read this oneHOWTO article to find out complete information about how many countries are there in Africa, categorized as per their geographical location.

You may also be interested in: How Many Countries Are there in Asia
  1. Western Africa
  2. Eastern Africa
  3. Northern Africa
  4. Southern Africa
  5. Middle Africa
  6. Territories and de facto independent states

Western Africa

West Africa is a sub-region that comprises a total of 18 countries, which include the following:

  • Nigeria
  • Ghana
  • Côte d'Ivoire
  • Niger
  • Burkina Faso
  • Mali
  • Senegal
  • Guinea
  • Benin
  • Togo
  • Sierra Leone
  • Liberia
  • Mauritania
  • Gambia
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Cabo Verde

Interesting facts

Nigeria is the most populous country of Africa, with a population of around 154.7 million people, making around 18% of the total population of the continent

Niger is a landlocked African country bordered by Nigeria, Chad, Libya, Mali, Algeria, Burkina Faso and Benin on different sides.

Eastern Africa

East Africa is a sub-region that has been classified b the United Nations Statistics Division and that has a total of 20 countries.

  • Ethiopia
  • Tanzania
  • Kenya
  • Uganda
  • Mozambique
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe
  • South Sudan
  • Rwanda
  • Burundi
  • Somalia
  • Eritrea
  • Mauritius
  • Djibouti
  • Comoros
  • Seychelles

Interesting facts

Ethiopia is the place where the oldest human remains have been discovered so far, which are around 200,000 years old.

Madagascar is the biggest island in Africa, and the 4th largest in the world, located in the Indian Ocean near the Eastern coast of Africa

Victoria Falls are located along the borders of Zimbabwe and Zambia. They are 355 feet in height and 1 mile in width, and are included in the list of 7 natural wonders of the world as well.

Mount Kilimanjaro in Tanzania is the highest peak in Africa, rising 19,340 feet above sea level.

Northern Africa

Norther Africa is the sub-region which includes a total of 6 countries, though regions such as Western Sahara, which is mostly Moroccan, have not yet achieved international recognition.

  • Egypt
  • Sudan
  • Algeria
  • Morocco
  • Tunisia
  • Libya

Interesting facts

The great civilization of Egypt is perhaps the oldest civilization found on earth, dating back to 3300 BC.

Sudan is the largest country of Africa, measuring 968,000 square miles.

How Many Countries Are There In Africa - Northern Africa

Southern Africa

The sub-region known as Southern Africa has South Africa as its first regional power and includes a total of 6 countries according the the UN scheme.

  • South Africa
  • Namibia
  • Botswana
  • Lesotho
  • Swaziland

An interesting fact

South Africa is the southern most country of the continent, being one of the largest and most populous countries of the world. Having a wide variety of languages, cultures and religions, its constitution has recognized 11 different languages of operation.

Middle Africa

This region comprises all countries geographically located in the center of the continent according to the UN. This region should not be mistaken by the term Central Africa, which only comprises the Democratic Republic of Congo, Rwanda, Chad and Central African Republic. Therefore, the countries that form Middle Africa are:

  • DR Congo
  • Angola
  • Cameroon
  • Chad
  • Central African Republic
  • Congo
  • Gabon
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Sao Tome and Principe

An interesting fact

Although Central African Republic has significant deposits of uranium, crude oil, cobalt, hydropower, gold, lumber and diamonds, it is still one of the poorest countries in the world.

How Many Countries Are There In Africa - Middle Africa
Image: maps-africa.blogspot

Territories and de facto independent states

Other than these 54 African countries, there are ten territories that are administered as incorporated non-African state parts or external dependencies. These territories are:

  • Canary Islands (Spain)
  • Melila (Spain)
  • The Islands of Mayotte
  • Region of Madeira (Portugal)
  • Saint Helena, Ascension & Tristan de Cuhna (Great Britain)
  • French Southern AntarticaLand (France)
  • Reunion (France)
  • Lampione and Lampedusa (Italy)
  • Plaza de Soberania (Spain)
  • Mayote (Francia)

Some neighboring countries recognize Somaliland and Sahwari Arab Democratic Republic as sovereign states of Africa, but in reality, they are the two de facto independent states of the continent.

If you want to read similar articles to How Many Countries Are There In Africa, we recommend you visit our Learning category.

Write a comment
What did you think of this article?
Image: maps-africa.blogspot
1 of 3
How Many Countries Are There In Africa